You may take the following steps on the page where the portlet appears or on the main or full view of the portlet. (You can get to the full view by clicking on the title of the portlet (My Bookmarks, if you are on My Pages tab) or the "Go to Main Screen" link in the bottom right corner of the portlet.)
- Click on the (Customize) icon on the right hand side of the title bar of the bookmark portlet to open the Customize portlet My Bookmarks (or the name of the portlet you are customizing) window.
- There are two tabs in this window: Preferences and Settings. The options are described below.
- Make your changes.
- Click Save. NOTE: In order for all changes to be saved, you must click Save on a tab before going to the other tab.
- When you have finished making changes, click on Exit to return to the main view of the portlet.
Order Bookmarks Alphabetically - Select the checkbox for this option to automatically display your bookmarks in alphabetical order. If you prefer to manually order your bookmarks, this box should not be checked.
Order Sets Alphabetically - Select the checkbox for this option to automatically display your sets in alphabetical order. If you prefer to manually order your sets, this box should not be checked.
Show Empty Sets - By default, sets that have no bookmarks associated with them will be hidden. To see these sets in your bookmarks portlet, select the checkbox for this option.
Log Bookmark Clicks
- Select the checkbox for this option to track the number of times a bookmark is accessed. This information will be displayed after the bookmark in the bookmarks portlet, like this: Colby Apps (Viewed: 12 times)
Use Display Indicator - Select the checkbox for this option if you would like the option of selecting a beginning and ending dates and times for the bookmark to be displayed.
If you select this option, when you add or edit a bookmark, you will be able to set these dates and times, as well as the action you'd like applied to the link when the end date and time have passed: Make Inactive or Delete.
If you choose Make Inactive for a link, when the ending date and time have passed, the link will still show up in your list of links when you are in the Edit View of the portlet. It will show up in an Inactive Set. You may edit the link at any time to reactivate it.
NOTE: If you have chosen the Use Display Indicator option, have inactive bookmarks and then turn off the Use Display Indicator option, inactive bookmarks will no longer be displayed in the Edit View of the portlet. You will only see inactive links if you edit a set that contains the link(s). Inactive links will appear in the Reorder section at the bottom of the Manage Set View window.
Although you will see an inactive bookmark here, you do not have the option to edit it in order to reactivate it. To do that, you must turn the Use Display Indicator option back on. The Inactive set will reappear in the Edit View of the portlet and you can edit an inactive bookmark to make it active again.